Skull Drones

by Per Mission

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $3 USD




HELLO* To listen to SKULL DRONES PART TWO please visit this link:

Recorded by Jason Noble / 1996 to 2011
Lucky Anchor Studios, - Louisville, KY. Additonal recording at Impact Impression (KY) & Skidmore College (NY). Christian Frederickson, Kevin Ratterman and Darron L. West greatly assisted with engineering and general awesomeness.

Impossible without the support and guidance of Kristin Furnish.
Cover artwork by the incredible David Cook.

Dedicated to Geraldine K. Patterson – endless thanks!

Guest musicians
Kyle Crabtree - drum kit
Christian Frederickson – viola, sample strings
Edward Grimes – drums, sample vibes
Rachel Grimes – sample piano / strings
Dominic Johnson – viola, sample strings
Gregory King – sample vibes, percussion
Libby King – voice
Jeff Mueller – guitar, letterpress
Ryan Rumery – drums
Doug Scharin – drums
Jeffery V. Thompson – voice

The song “Twenty Percent Brighter” was performed by The Poison Arrows and appears on their album “First Class, And Forever.” They kindly allowed Per Mission to remix the song. Original tracks recorded by Greg Norman at Electrical Audio Studio A and Justin Sinkovich at The Plaza – Chicago. The song features these musicians (many thanks to all of them):
Patrick Morris – Bass guitar
Adam Reach – Drum kit
Justin Sinkovich – Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals
with Brian Case – co-vocals
Eric Chaleff – guitar

All other sounds made by:
Sally Kole, Martin Low, Jason Noble & William Chance Jr.
12 string guitar loaned by Aaron Frisbee.

Quite a lot of this music was written for these fine films:
“Our House” by Greg King and David Teague, “Vacation” by Barbara Stepansky, “Rotating Mirror” by Greg King and “Driver” by Anna Cimini.
(a thousand miles of respect to them all)

Shout out to: Drew & Martin for mastering the first album and for endless loops of sentient ooze.

Very special thanks to – David Cook, Patterson, Furnish, Noble, Grimes & Mucci families. Corey & Diane Rusk, MD Anderson Hospital, Baptist East Hospital, CBC (Louisville), Kevin & Amy Colutas, Lisa Crabtree, Tara Frederickson, Alec Johnson, Ashley Steimer, Kerri Sancomb, Leo Mueller, Todd Cook, Lethia, Simon & Zinnia, Erin & Julianna, Angela & the Mbira Queens, Jenny Lavery, Cheryl Plain, Chris, Jessie & Ewan, Frontier(s), Seluah, Uzeda, Shannonwright, King’s Daughters & Sons, Gold Jacket Club, Three Second Kiss, Skull Alley, Jon Hawpe, Coliseum, Young Widows, Strike City, Wax Fang, Sandpaper Dolls, Joe & Joan, Parlour, Chris Brokaw, Second Story Man, Minnow, Brian & Chris Lueken, Cory Rayborn, The SITI Company (Stephen, Leon, Akiko, Barney, J. Ed, Ellen, Tom, Kelly, Bondo, Anne, Megan, Brian and all the students), USU, Bellini, Matmos, MetroSchifter, Montag, Wild and Woolly Video family, Carl Kolchak, The Friday Night Soundclash / WFPK, Matt Anthony, ear X-tacy records, Louisville Cartoonists Society, Miranda Lange / PMA and of course Erik Carter / Uncle Booking. A word of gratitude: Music Cares, Shirley Walker, John Barry, Robert Wise, Guillermo Navarro, J. G. Ballard, Antonia Bird, Jordan Cronenweth, Jeff Cronenweth, Harris Savides, Mary Harron, Stephen Frears, Michael Winterbottom, Cliff Martinez, Brad Anderson, Los Bros Hernandez, CRIB, Flying Lotus, Massive Attack, Portishead, Guillermo del Toro, Magnet Magazine, David Lynch, Angelo Badalamenti, Dj Krush, Dj Shadow, Climax Golden Twins, The RZA, Fourtet, Tangerine Dream, Art of Noise, Vangelis, Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, The Bomb Squad, Hank Shocklee, Walter Mosley, Dennis O’Neil, Creation Rebel, Pluramon, Jack Russell (aka WBN), Moon Knight, Barry Adamson, Nick Cave, Morton Feldman, Hans Zimmer, China Mieville, Alan Moore, Vietnam Kitchen, Extra Golden & Linton Kwesi Johnson.

And – Quarterstick Records, FILE 13 records, Karate Body, Noise Pollution, Three Lobed Recordings, Ghetto Defendant, Slamdek Scramdown, Initial Records, Monitor Records, Bisig Impact Group, Too Pure, Abus Dangereux, Noise mag, Ruminance and AfricanTape Records.

* CONGRATULATIONS! Greg & Ashley! Rebecca & Andy! Amber & Nick! Well done!


This album collects material made over a 15 year period. It was recorded over many nights and a few daylight hours... often in a very isolated or meditative way. That said, it draws heavily on the creativity and generosity of my musical companions in the bands Rodan, Rachel’s, Shipping News, King G & the J Krew and The Young Scamels. I truly thank these kind folks for their open minds and good humor.
This (rather long-winded) two part collection has been priced very inexpensively. Hopefully this will encourage listeners to have fun and ramble around – deciding what to keep and what to eject. Feelings will not be bruised either way. Thanks so much for your time… all the best – J Noble / Louisville.

This is Public Noise Private Noise #2

Also available : “A Ritual Loop” (CD/DL) – 2001

* The track “Making Room for Joy” originally appeared on the compilation “Louisville SonicImprint Vol.1” released by Ghetto Defendant – 1998.

“Driver part 1” appeared on the cassette-only release “Signal To Noise” distributed by Initial Records.

Nar 2 : It will be okay.


released March 16, 2011


all rights reserved



PER MISSION Louisville, Kentucky

contact / help


Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

If you like Skull Drones, you may also like: